2020’s Unexpected Comebacks #1: A Girl Called Eddy – Been Around

girl called eddy
It was in the summer of 2004, during a holiday at the Côte d’Azur in France, that I first spotted A Girl Called Eddy’s self titled album at a record store. At one of those stands where you could listen to selected albums on headphones I ended up listening to the album and that voice got me right away. After being reminded of the album by a positive review in a magazine I picked up the album back home in the Netherlands. I also saw her perform live at the small room upstairs at Paradiso in Amsterdam later that year. That was 16 years ago.

A lot has changed in my life in the years since then. Back then I was 22, now I’ll be turning 38 in 3 months. Back then I had recently finished by studies of Engineering Physics, now I’m a software tester who has worked in the IT business for the last 13 years. But for A Girl Called Eddy not so much has changed. This album is a very logical follow up to her self titled debut. She may have abandoned the big sounding strings that could be heard on some of that album for a more stripped down sound with soulful horns. But that voice still sounds as lovely as ever, her way of writing beautiful melodies or harmonies hasn’t changed, she’s still playing the piano in the same beautiful way, the album has the same lovely mix of ballads and up tempo songs.

Over the last 16 years there have been several reports that she was working on a 2nd album, but it was always followed by a long period of silence and nothing ever happened. I had eventually given up hope that we’d ever hear another album. Even when a release date was finally announced last year I still had my doubts, but then a few weeks ago the disc finally arrived in the mail. It was like hearing from an old friend and everything’s well. The album opens with a remark “Girl where’ve you been?”, she took the words right out of my mouth. It brings back great memories: the title track which opens the album reminds me of “People Used To Dream About The Future”, “Jody” sounds like “The Long Goodbye” with horns, “Charity Shop Window” sounds like “Girls Can Really Tear You Up Inside”. All reminding me why I loved this woman’s music so much 16 years ago.

But as great second albums go, it’s more than just the familiar stuff from her debut. The aforementioned soulful horns are a great addition to her ballads such as the title track and “Not That Sentimental Anymore”. The way she lets Shez Sheridan’s baritone guitar instead of her piano take center stage also is a pleasant surprise, while the vocal harmonies with co-producer Daniel Tashian on the final song “Pale Blue Moon” is something we haven’t heard from her before.

If there is something to complain about here, it’s that I miss a little happy song to cheer things up the way “Life Thru The Same Lens” did on her debut. But that’s a minor thing, even without it I’m really falling in love again with this woman’s voice and her gorgeous melodies. It has been a long time, but it has been worth the wait. The first of the unexpected comebacks of 2020 (watch for more to appear later on this blog) is a good one. If she’ll also takes these songs on the road and play a show over here in the Netherlands I’ll be happy for at least another 16 years. I’m glad you’re back Erin, I’m still listening!

girlcallededdy2

This entry was posted in New Albums. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment